Reading Srila Prabhupada’s books

( – Reading the Books Gives a Taste

Prabhupada offered his books for those who like to read them

Dedication to Śrī Caitanya-caritāmṛta

Presented to my friends
and devotees who like to read
my books and who approached me
to request that I render the great
Caitanya-caritāmṛta into English
A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami

When shall I become very eager to study the books left by the six Gosvāmīs?

Purport to Gauranga Bolite Habe — Los Angeles, December 29, 1968: He says further: rūpa-raguṇatha-pade haibe ākuti. When I shall be very much eager to study the books left by the Six Gosvāmīs. Ākuti means eagerness. One Because Rūpa Gosvāmī is the father of this devotional service. He has written that book, Bhakti-rasāmṛta-sindhu. In that book there is nice direction. Of course, in Caitanya-caritāmṛta, and other books we have given the summary of those direction in our book, Teachings of Lord Caitanya. So one has to learn the conjugal loving affairs of Rādhā-Kṛṣṇa through the teachings of these Six Gosvāmīs. Narottama dāsa Ṭhākura giving us the direction that you do not try to understand the conjugal love of Rādhā-Kṛṣṇa by your own endeavor. You should try to understand by the direction of the Gosvāmīs.

CC Madhya 25.271, Purport: One should not think that the pastimes of Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu are different from Kṛṣṇa’s pastimes. It is said, śrī-kṛṣṇa-caitanya, rādhā-kṛṣṇa nahe anya: “Lord Caitanya Mahāprabhu is a combination of Rādhā and Kṛṣṇa.” Thus without understanding the pastimes of Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu, one cannot understand Rādhā and Kṛṣṇa. Śrīla Narottama dāsa Ṭhākura therefore sings, rūpa-raghunātha-pade haibe ākuti/ kabe hāma bujhaba se yugala pirīti: “When shall I become very eager to study the books left by the six Gosvāmīs? Then I shall be able to understand the conjugal pastimes of Rādhā and Kṛṣṇa.” Caitanya Mahāprabhu directly empowered Śrīla Rūpa Gosvāmī and Śrīla Sanātana Gosvāmī. Following in their footsteps, the other Gosvāmīs understood Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu and His mission. One should understand Śrī Kṛṣṇa Caitanya and Lord Śrī Kṛṣṇa from the six Gosvāmīs in the paramparā system. The Kṛṣṇa consciousness movement is following as strictly as possible in the footsteps of the Gosvāmīs.

Read Full Story at


What do you think?

25 Points

Leave a Reply

Life Comes from Life! |

The Original Rasa (Srila Sridhar Maharaj explains)