What is Samsara? (Q&A)

Samsara is a Sanskrit term that originated in ancient India, and it has been a central concept in various Indian religions, including Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism. The term “samsara” can be translated as “cycle of existence” or “wandering through the world,” and it refers to the ongoing process of birth, life, death, and rebirth that all living beings undergo.

History: The concept of samsara has its roots in the Vedic texts, which are the oldest religious scriptures of India, dating back 5000 years. Over time, the idea of samsara evolved and became more refined, particularly with the development of Hindu philosophy (Upanishads), and the emergence of Buddhism (around 5th century BCE) and Jainism (around 6th century BCE). These religions share the belief in samsara, but they differ in their interpretations and ways of seeking liberation from this cycle.


  1. Hinduism: In Hinduism, samsara is driven by the law of karma, which holds that an individual’s actions in their present life will determine the circumstances of their future lives. Good actions lead to positive consequences (good karma), while bad actions lead to negative consequences (bad karma). Hindus believe that the cycle of samsara can be broken through achieving “moksha,” which is the ultimate liberation from the cycle of birth and rebirth, allowing one to merge with the divine consciousness or Brahman.

  2. Buddhism: In Buddhism, samsara is viewed as a state of suffering (dukkha) caused by ignorance (avijja) and craving (tanha). To break free from samsara, one must follow the Noble Eightfold Path, which leads to the cessation of suffering and the attainment of enlightenment (nirvana). Once nirvana is achieved, one is no longer subject to the cycle of birth, death, and rebirth.

  3. Jainism: Similar to Hinduism and Buddhism, Jains believe in the cycle of samsara, driven by karma. However, in Jainism, karma is considered a form of subtle matter that adheres to the soul (jiva) based on one’s actions. To break free from samsara, Jains practice non-violence (ahimsa), truthfulness (satya), non-stealing (asteya), chastity (brahmacharya), and non-attachment (aparigraha). By purifying the soul of karmic matter, one can achieve spiritual liberation (moksha) and end the cycle of birth and rebirth.

In summary, samsara is a central concept in Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism that represents the ongoing cycle of birth, life, death, and rebirth experienced by all living beings. Although each religion has its own interpretation and path towards liberation, they all share the belief in the existence of this cycle and the possibility of transcending it.

This post was created with our nice and easy submission form. Create your post!


What do you think?

0 Points

Leave a Reply

Morning Prayers LIVE from the Bhutabhrteshwarnath Mandir

Devotional Attire